favorite thing you've ever turned - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 12-10-2011, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

View bond3737's Photo Album My Photos
favorite thing you've ever turned

For some of you this will be difficult. As a beginner I can look at 14 bowls and say yeah that's my fave but for some of you we are talking about hundreds even thousands of pieces. But I would love to see what people consider their absolute favorite work. It doesnt have to be for purely aesthetic reasons. It can be because it just made you happiest or it was for someone you care about or just plain prettiest! Anything goes here but Id love to hear about why it is your favorite. One of my favorite things about wood is that it tells a story. Whether it's the story of the wood, the story of the person when it sculpted that wood, or both. Show us your favorite stuff and tell us your favorite stories, happy turnin all,
Bond
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-10-2011, 11:05 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
Don't want to sound like a cop out but my favorite thing I turned is whatever I just finished turning. I really value my shop time as it allows me to truly be "in the moment", and this is even more true when I'm at the lathe.

I also am my own worst critic and strive to improve my technique with every piece I turn, whether that be a simple pen, a bottle stopper or a bowl. Most times these days I actually succeed at that ;-)
and am very pleased with the results.

So I hope you continue to enjoy your time turning as much as I do mine and find that your favorite piece is the one you just finished. :-)

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
The Following User Says Thank You to sawdustfactory For This Useful Post:
mackem (12-11-2011)
post #3 of 15 Old 12-10-2011, 11:51 PM

View Theobroma's Photo Album My Photos