Drying fruit woods - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 05-02-2007, 01:29 PM Thread Starter

View Butch Marley's Photo Album My Photos
Question Drying fruit woods

I am new to turning. I live in the central valley of California, where there is an abundence of walnut, almond, apricot, peach and the like. How can I succesfully dry these woods to turn a bowl? Everything I make cracks/splits or explodes. I need your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-02-2007, 11:15 PM

View conscious's Photo Album My Photos
drying

i don't know how large you want to turn, but my father in law in lake county cal. used to make walnut trivets out of rounds that he dried in the microwave. never thought it would work but it is about time someone came up with a decent use for a microwave. (they destroy food and are illegal for cooking in eastern europe)

they apparently heat from the inside out, and i don't know if you would have to heat it up all at one time or do it stage by stage with cooling or whatever. it seems he didn't do it at one setting, and you are going to want something thicker than he played with. may not work on your dimensions.

good luck. can always try the keep the bark on and paint the ends. in the east the humidity usually dries a log out about two inches per year - that is air drying. (did living history, 1700's wood working for a spell)
post #3 of 9 Old 05-03-2007, 01:50 AM

View Mitch Cholewinski's Photo Album My Photos