Drying bowls - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 11-15-2009, 12:18 PM Thread Starter

View Marc Wenzel's Photo Album My Photos
Post Drying bowls

Hi,
I am new to woodturning and I am looking to find out what is the best way to dry bowls.
Thanks Marc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 11-15-2009, 12:42 PM
4Woodturning

View Jeff4woodturning's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the world of wood turning, there are several ways for drying out your bowls, boiling, microwave, paper bag the bowl with the shavings from the bowl, weight it and keep track of weight once no more weight lost its dry. rough turn and seal them up for about 3 month video link below..

http://www.wonderhowto.com/how-to/vi...urning-225221/

Jeff,

"Just because your not bleeding, don't mean your turning safely"..
post #3 of 4 Old 11-15-2009, 01:31 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
Well first of all, no matter what everyone tells you, you have to find your own way. Every area is different and the species we use are different.
I either turn them thin 1/2" for bigger bowls and 1/4" for small ones. Then I simply let them dry for a day or so and sand them. The really thin ones will often dry enough on the lathe to sand right there. I finish them and put them up to let them warp. Then I sand the bottom flat so it sits on the table correctly.
Many of us do what we call twice turned. Turn the bowls to approximately 10% thickness for the size of the bowl. For example a 12" bowl would be roughly 1" thick through out. Then put them up and let them dry for about 6 months depending on where you live. Then you re-turn them later. This is the only way to get perfectly round bowls.