Drill going off centre - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 07-11-2010, 05:29 PM Thread Starter

View heliosuk's Photo Album My Photos
Drill going off centre

Hi people,

I'm very new to wood turning and am gradually finding my way around however I have to me a massive problem when drilling pen blanks.

I write off nearly 50% as the drill will drift off centre. Initially I thought it was an alignment or run out problem with the pillar drill but I think I have narrowed it down now to drill pressure and speed.

I can't seem to find any info on what is the correct speed etc.

Any tips on how to make sure it's central all the way through or what drill to use. I get best results from using metal cutting drills but these seem to blow or crack the bottom end of the blank.

I've also seen a tool that holds the blanks vertically but I don't see how this will get over the issue, just help it.

Any tips as it's driving me nuts now?

Thanks in anticipation.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-11-2010, 07:27 PM
sawdust maker

View woody woodturner's Photo Album My Photos
probs with drilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by heliosuk View Post
Hi people,

I'm very new to wood turning and am gradually finding my way around however I have to me a massive problem when drilling pen blanks.

I write off nearly 50% as the drill will drift off centre. Initially I thought it was an alignment or run out problem with the pillar drill but I think I have narrowed it down now to drill pressure and speed.

Any tips on how to make sure it's central all the way through or what drill to use. I get best results from using metal cutting drills but these seem to blow or crack the bottom end of the blank.

I've also seen a tool that holds the blanks vertically but I don't see how this will get over the issue, just help it.

Thanks in anticipation.