Disston Porter Tools? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 10-23-2008, 03:25 PM Thread Starter

View Richard's Photo Album My Photos
Disston Porter Tools?

Hi

I'm new in the world of wood turner. I just picked up a set of turning tools from Ebay and I was wondering if I over paid($49+9 for shipping). I know it's too late but.... I put a bid in a day before I went on vacation and won. I got them in yesterday and they do look unused a little rust and no pitting and they are full size tools

TIA

Richard

DISSTON WOOD TURNING CHISEL SET - FOUND THIS OLD SET OF 8 DIFFERENT PIECES, NEVER USED - IN ORIGINAL BOX - ALL WOOD HANDLES ARE STAMPED IN RED WITH THE NAME: DISSTON PORTER USA - THE BLADES ARE AS FOLLOWS: 1 inch skew, 1/2 inch skew, 1/2 parting tool, 1/2 spear point tool, 1/4 gouge, 1/2 gouge, 1/2 round nose, 3/4 gouge - ALL BLADES ARE LIKE NEW, NEVER SHARPENED
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 10-23-2008, 08:37 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Richard,
That sounds like a pretty fair price, considering you paid less for an unused set than one new Sorby would cost. They will need to be properly sharpened before you use them. If you are new to the sport and aren't familiar with sharpening yet, yes I said yet, take them to someone who knows how to sharpen them and hang around while they are doing it. Have fun,
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 9 Old 10-24-2008, 10:18 AM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
They may not be High speed steel but they are probably pretty decent tools. I think that's a fair price. Not a great price but a decent one. If they were High speed steel I would think it would be a much better deal.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 10-24-2008, 11:22 AM Thread Starter

Thanks Mike, But I don't know anyone (yet) that can help me. I Haven't been around the ww forum long enough to know too many truner. I'm going to hold my breath and give it a spin.

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkmph View Post