Cutting and Gluing Segments - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 08-03-2011, 02:28 PM Thread Starter

View scottj963's Photo Album My Photos
Cutting and Gluing Segments

I am fairly new to turning and woodworking (less than a year). I am trying my hand at a segmented vessel from some scraps I was able to dig up and a piece of Butternut that I bought. I am cutting 8 pieces per layer on my radial arm saw. I have a sacrificial table that is held in place by double faced foam tape. After a pile of firewood and several days later, I think I have the 22.5į angle set.
On one layer, I am alternating Walnut and some green (color) Poplar. 1/2" thick. The next row I glued up a thin sheet of Cherry sandwiched between thin sheets of Maple. 21/32" thick. The Butternut I will use as the main part of the vessel and it is 25/32" thick.
After setting up with scraps, I cut the Walnut and Polar and glued it up. I saw a TV program by Tim Yoder doing a segmented bowl and they glued up the pieces on a sheet of plywood in two half rings then ripped it on the table saw to get a good fit. I didnít want to waste what little plywood I have so I glued up on card stock as a complete ring allowing the glue to set up for at least 10 minutes between pieces. The last piece was off a little bit so I sanded the angles to get it to fit.
I barely tweaked my saw angle and cut the sandwiched strip and glued it up in the same manner. The fit was as close to perfect as I could ever imagine. Then I cut the pieces for another ring of the sandwiched material. It was off a tiny bit, but I think I didnít have the points of one of the segments lined up just right.
Next I moved my stop block about an eighth of an inch for longer pieces and cut some Butternut and glued it up. The last piece was too tight on the short side and had a thin gap on the long side.