curing wet wood for turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
eurekajon

View eurekajon's Photo Album My Photos
curing wet wood for turning

I have got some freshles cut river birch that was cut down about two months ago. the logs were 12/14 in. in dia. but I cut them in half through the heartwood/pith and rounded them some for drying. I want tod cure them for use next Jan/2012. How best to do and do the ends need to be treated (can latex paint be used) before storing thanks Eurekajon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 04:01 PM
djg
Senior Something

View djg's Photo Album My Photos
I'm not an expert; just starting out like you, also. What I've been told is that the pith should be completely removed or else it will start splitting from there. So you might have to saw a little more off (thin slice). Maybe others will disagree.
You can either cut round blanks out of the remaining half logs, or just seal the end.
As far as sealing, latex paint doesn't really work; it is formulated to breath. Some around here use melted canning wax and others log sealers like Anchorseal (can be purchased directly from the manufacturer).
post #3 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 05:05 PM

View Bob Willing's Photo Album My Photos
I have a couple of Russian Olive blanks that I won at out turning club, and I am drying them out in a plastic bag surrounded in shredded paper from our home paper shredder. It seems to be working since every two weeks I am replacing the paper with our shredded junk mail. The shredded paper is very wet and the blanks have not started to crack. Next month I am going to try and weigh them to see if they are really losing weight. I heard some where to put them in crushed paper but the shredded paper makes more contact with the wood, and it is a good place dispose of junk mail.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 05:50 PM

View Glidden's Photo Album My Photos