Craftsman chuck - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 11-18-2009, 06:43 PM Thread Starter

View birdcarver's Photo Album My Photos
Craftsman chuck

Since I'm new at wood lathe, I wanted to ask a question of you guys. I am wanting a chuck, (but not to put alot of $$ yet) and a neighbor has a craftsman 4 jaw chuck. He had sold his lathe and happen to still have the chuck. its 6 " dia. and will hold outside & inside he said. I looked up in sears and the chuck sells for $99.95 but I can get it from my neighbor for $25.00
Would this be an ok chuck to start with?
thanks
Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 11-18-2009, 08:57 PM
Just makin chips fly

View The woodsman's Photo Album My Photos
Craftsman chuck

No don't by it,PS whats his phone number
Hey all jokes aside,if it will fit your lathe then go for it,cause you can't beat the price

God Bless all
Ken Ward
post #3 of 17 Old 11-18-2009, 09:09 PM Thread Starter

thanks Ken, I think I will buy it. I think he said the jaws are reversable, but I believe the jaws are independent (not sure) so I guess that would be more of a problem getting the work piece centered
thanks
Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 11-18-2009, 11:14 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
I know sears sells it as a wood lathe chuck but it isn't. You can do some work with it but if you want to hold bowls and such it will not hold it securely. The jaws were designed to hold metal, not wood.
If it is a 4 jaw chuck it is probably what we call an independant jaw chuck. This means that it is not self centering. Great for a machinist, extremely lousy for a woodturner. Each jaw must be closed seperately and to center something you need a dial indicator and a lot of patience.