A couple stoppers I made - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 05-25-2009, 01:39 PM Thread Starter

View thekctermite's Photo Album My Photos
A couple stoppers I made

Just started doing some bottle stoppers...

The first one is a banksia pod. I filled the seed holes with coffee grounds and CA glue, and filled the dozens of smaller cracks and inclusions with thick CA glue. Banksia's are a nightmare to turn but I sure like the results. The finish is two coats of spar after sanding to 1500 grit.

The other one is a walnut stopper with a maple celtic knot. This is my first attempt at a celtic knot, and I'm happy to say that the proportions are spot-on. I'm sure my next one will be a disaster!
It is finished with two coats of tung oil on the lathe after sanding to 2000 grit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3045.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	28.2 KB
ID:	9160  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3052.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	9161  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 05-25-2009, 03:15 PM

View Robocop's Photo Album My Photos
Nice stoppers love the celtic knot, i saw some photos once of a celtic knot in a rolling pin but cant find them, next time maybe you could take photos of the process. By coffee ground do you mean coffee powder?

Gus
post #3 of 19 Old 05-25-2009, 03:51 PM
This Space For Rent

View slatron25's Photo Album My Photos
Great looking stoppers. I've been using the coffee grounds and glue technique on cracks. And why is it our second attempts seem so much harder that our first attempts?

Tim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 Old 05-25-2009, 03:59 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robocop View Post
Nice stoppers love the celtic knot, i saw some photos once of a celtic knot in a rolling pin but cant find them, next time maybe you could take photos of the process. By coffee ground do you mean coffee powder?

Gus