Could Someone Recommend a good set of Wood lathe chisels? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 06-21-2013, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
twingall1

View twingall1's Photo Album My Photos
Question Could Someone Recommend a good set of Wood lathe chisels?

Hi,

I'm just starting out wood-turning on a Clarke 20" wood lathe. One of the things i want to do is turn chess pieces from ebony/boxwood.
Trying to decide on a set of chisels and i need some advice. There seems to be a huge price range out there and a lot of choise. I want some nice quality chisels but i don't want to break the bank! (maybe something in the £20-£60 range..(($30-$100))

Also, using these two examples (one is £13, the other £50), can someone give me a breakdown of the difference in quality?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8pc-BRAND-...item58a13b6000

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/8pc-HSS-PR...item5d3a31bef4

Many thanks,
Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 06-21-2013, 07:38 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
Don't buy a set. There will be sizes and gouges you'll probably rarely ever use. To do the type of items you mentioned, I'd get a roughing gouge, diamond parting tool, 1-2 different sized spindle gouges and maybe a skew. Robert Sorby and Henry Taylor are good brands. Thompson lathe tools are fantastic but they are a little pricy.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 17 Old 06-21-2013, 07:48 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
I would go with Sawdustfactory's recommendation.

A set sounds less expensive, but you will have tools which do not get used.

UK brands like Robert Sorby and Henry Taylor are good, and they have different quality of tools.

I have some tools from both of these companies.

Cheaper tools will require more frequent sharpening.

Sawdustfactory mentioned Thompson tools. These are terrific tools, but he is a US manufacturer. I expect the shipping would be expensive.