complete newbie issue... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 09-01-2011, 01:55 PM Thread Starter
making all the things

View flutterbys's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy complete newbie issue...

I've been having a lot of luck turning large diameter, short pieces, but now I'm trying to turn very small diameter spindles up 1.5" at one end and tapering down to about 3/8" at 10-12" long. (They're going to be used for spinning yarn- think a 2 inch tall spinning top with a very long tapered stem.) Here's an example. The ends are not a problem, but I can't work down the middle like I want it without it vibrating and threatening to break. I've tried approaching it from different angles, but when I put enough pressure to cut, it vibrates so much that I can't even tell what I'm doing by looking at the profile. I've have my Craftsman 12" for only about 6 weeks, so I know I have a ton to learn. I wanted a mini-lathe, but found mine at too good of a price to pass up. Am I asking her to do something she just isn't going to be able to do, or am I missing something obvious and fundamental? I can always use the "60 grit gouge" but that just feels like cheating. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 09-01-2011, 02:23 PM

View slicksqueegie's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by flutterbys