Chucking Drum Shells - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 12-17-2011, 11:30 AM Thread Starter

View RockerBug17's Photo Album My Photos
Chucking Drum Shells

I've been toying around with a wood lathe and joiner (jointer) that I picked up this past summer. I successfully made one drum shell, but ran into one big problem: I don't have a consistent method for chucking the shells. My end result, while useable, was not of a uniform thickness. Since then, I've been exploring how other drum makers chuck their shells.

In review of this video:
and these photos, it appears that I will need a chuck that adjusts from one central point. I assume he's using a four jaw chuck. I have a four jaw but each jaw moves independently, making it very difficult to center something like a drum shell. I also believe that he's using Cole jaws?

You'll have to excuse me, as I am still new to woodturning. I've been trying to track down the equipment I will need to chuck a drum shell, but it's difficult when I don't know the proper terminology. If anyone could offer advice on what I would need to chuck a drum shell, it would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-17-2011, 11:52 AM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
It looks like in this pic you can see he has made his own combination wood jaws/jam chuck to attach to the large jaws.
Most chucks available today are self centering, I personally like Oneway chucks. Vicmarc also makes a nice chuck.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 5 Old 12-17-2011, 01:44 PM

View wildwood's Photo Album My Photos
Looks like using Oneway Chuck in video with modified jumbo jaws where wood replaces buttons. Pretty much same idea Sawdustfactory posted except homemade. Only thing holding you back would be swing of your lathe and chuck.

Jumbo Jaws

http://www.oneway.ca/chucks/accessories/jumbo_jaws.htm