Choosing a Lathe - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Ken Johnson
  • 1 Post By Ken Johnson
  • 1 Post By Ken Johnson

post #1 of 14 Old 04-01-2019, 12:36 PM Thread Starter

View Ken Johnson's Photo Album My Photos
Choosing a Lathe

Ok, I have been woodworking for 40+ years and have spent countless hours on the lathe. My current lathe is a Jet midi lathe which is great for small stuff. I bought a Grizzly lathe years ago with hopes of it being decent for entry level of turning some larger bowls as it had a headstock you could turn sideways so you could handle large bowls. I ended up selling it because the headstock and tailstock didn't line up vertically very well and there was a lot of play laterally in both. I'm looking for a good quality lathe and was hoping the experts here could help me find something. I was hoping not to have to spend $2k but I'm starting to think that is the going price for anything that isn't a ShopFox or Grizzly. I want something with the rotating head and a reversible motor. I don't need tons of bells and whistles, just a good quality piece of equipment. I have 220 service so I can handle either 110V or 220V lathes. Any recommendations or advice is greatly appreciated.

Ken

"What we hope ever to do with ease, we must first learn to do with diligence".
- Samuel Johnson
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
I've cut over 120 Longworth chucks and from those who ordered I would say at least 15-20 have told me they have the Laguna Revo 1216 lathe. That's not an endorsement but I know from having a Laguna 14SUV bandsaw that Laguna makes good tools. Jet also makes some good tools if you've not looked at those.

So I guess take that for what it's worth...

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23