carbide tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 05-07-2012, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

View kones's Photo Album My Photos
carbide tools

ive been turning for less than 2 years,im self taught as i have no one to teach me & at 53 i dont have time to travel & attend a "school".im doing ok but wanted to ask some experts about what they thought of carbide turning tools.not traditional by any means but a huge time saver for me .i still use a skew,scrapers & parting tools that i sharpen on a worksharp 3000 & hand stones.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 05-07-2012, 07:11 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Quote:
Originally Posted by kones View Post
ive been turning for less than 2 years,im self taught as i have no one to teach me & at 53 i dont have time to travel & attend a "school".im doing ok but wanted to ask some experts about what they thought of carbide turning tools.not traditional by any means but a huge time saver for me .i still use a skew,scrapers & parting tools that i sharpen on a worksharp 3000 & hand stones.
I only turn when I have to which is rarely. All of my tools are steel, not carbide. I like to be able to easily dress them myself.

post #3 of 16 Old 05-07-2012, 07:49 PM

View Whaler's Photo Album My Photos
I use the Woodchuck Pen Pro and swear by it.
http://www.woodchuck-tools.com/Tools.htm
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 05-07-2012, 08:10 PM

View woodtick greg's Photo Album My Photos