(Bullet) Cartridge pen plating issue - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 01-19-2012, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
(Bullet) Cartridge pen plating issue

I made this pen and sold it to a friend about 3-4 months ago. He is a waiter and uses it always. The plating is wearing off. There have been no abrasives or chemicals in contact with the pen. I guess it's expected and the company Berea Hardwoods claims that he could be putting 10x or maybe even 15x the normal use on the pen.

They also claim that it's normal wear for the extreme use involved. I kind of agree on that point. This is not a thread to bash Berea because they have been helpful on several things and as I said I agree for the most part. I just wanted others opinions and to get the info out for others to be knowledgeable.

This is the 24k gold plating which I think 14K would be better because its a harder gold. However I'm no expert on that.

The Chrome plating is much more durable according to Berea. The problem with that is the gold one looks more realistic and just plain better IMO.

Then there's the Titanium gold finish which is the hardest most durable plating but also could triple or quad ripple the cost of the kit and therefore would out price the kit.

Here are 2 pictures one is adjusted with photo editing software to make the wear more visible.

As usual comment and opinions appreciated.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-19-2012, 01:45 PM

View Ray Cover's Photo Album My Photos
When I have done plating in the past the Karat rating on plating solution 24K 14K 10K etc. often denotes the color of the plating solution no the actual hardness of the finish. That's the way it worked with the suppliers I used.