bowls with tool marks - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 04-18-2012, 08:37 PM Thread Starter

View softaly2's Photo Album My Photos
bowls with tool marks

I am very new to turning and am working on two bowls. I get a tool line/scrape going around inside the bowl. So I sand and it doesn't come out so I get the gouge and take a little more wood off and then I put a scrape elsewhere. I hand sand with cut up pieces of sand paper starting at 80 and ending at 600 grit. Also my turning with the gouge is not perfectly even and takes a lot of sanding. Am I missing a technique/experience or do I need to sand with an orbital sander? One last thing, does every turner own a chain saw?
Thanks in advance for responses

Last edited by softaly2; 04-18-2012 at 09:03 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 04-18-2012, 09:17 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Softy,
It takes a bit of practice to learn good tool control. I always recommend new turners try to find a turning club in their area if available. If not, try and find a local turner to help you get started. Better to learn the right way instead of trying to get rid of bad habits. Take your time, look up some of John Lucas's videos on Utube, that should help. Bowls aren't as easy to turn as they look. What seems like a simple shape is really a piece of wood changing grain direction during each revolution. Course if it was easy, it wouldn't be as much fun.
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 11 Old 04-18-2012, 11:20 PM

View Bonanza35's Photo Album My Photos
As for your tool marks all I can say is you are in good company. I think that's a pretty normal experience as you are developing your tool technique. Stick with it and have fun.
A chainsaw is pretty handy if you have access to timber. A bandsaw is great to have too. Of course you can always buy prepared blanks from retailers but that can get pretty expensive if you turn a lot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement