Bowl turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 03-02-2010, 10:49 AM Thread Starter

View techteacher's Photo Album My Photos
Bowl turning

I am new to turning and trying to figure out the best way to get started. I am a high school shop teacher and have never had any instruction on turning except when I was in high school. I have a Rockwell 46-525 lathe I had an old table leg I turned into wine glasses and they are neat but I wanted to start turning bowls. I want to cut my own wood but I mainly have oak around the farm. I also heard turning green wood is easier but how do I keep it from cracking? Here are some pictures so far the finish is rough but it looked a lot better after I sanded and re finished them. Also if anyone has parts for this lathe I am in need of some if you notice the the vice grips for speed control and they don't work very well
Attached Images

Last edited by techteacher; 03-02-2010 at 10:54 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 03-02-2010, 11:36 AM
Splinter Cushion

View b00kemdano's Photo Album My Photos
Your goblets look great! I really like that you recycled a table leg for them. I try to recycle whenever I can.

For example, I have my father-in-law's maple tree in my driveway. Oh, and a neighbor recently cut down a walnut tree, I've got most of that, too.

Someone posted this site some time ago about how to harvest wood from a log, and I found it to be full of great info.

Folks around here will probably tell you to cut some logs, seal the end grain with Anchorseal, and leave it alone for months. The anchorseal slows the drying of the wood and helps to prevent cracking.