Bottle Stopper Help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 02-12-2012, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE

View BassBlaster's Photo Album My Photos
Bottle Stopper Help

I know this is probably a stupid rookie question but I'm a stupid rookie so deal with it, lol!!!!

So, I'm making some stoppers. Trying to graduate from pens and move up to bigger and bigger things. I purchased the PSI stopper mandrel and I have 2 questions about using it.

Number 1, The bushing portion of the mandrel is about 15/16" I think. The stoppers I'm purchasing from SS Niles have an upper dimension of 13/16". What the best way to go about this without leaving and ugly shoulder? I know there are people who use this mandrel and the SS Niles stoppers. I was thinking just put a flat washer on before the blank and turning down to the washer but I cant find anything with a 13/16" outside diameter.

Number 2, All the reviews I read for this mandrel says the supplied drill bit is too large and instead, I should use an 11/32" bit. I drilled the 11/32" hole and put a blank on and now I cant get it off. Even if I am able to get it off without destroying it, how do I go about attaching the stopper? Its not really possible to use tools to do this without damaging either piece.

RRBrown, knottscott and many others were banned, they didn't just leave. They were banned for standing up to the new owners that are destroying this site. Come join us all at woodworking chat, the best new woodworking site on the net!!
The Following User Says Thank You to BassBlaster For This Useful Post:
Whaler (02-12-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-12-2012, 01:33 PM

View TomC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassBlaster
I know this is probably a stupid rookie question but I'm a stupid rookie so deal with it, lol!!!!