Boring a blank - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 04-01-2011, 12:55 PM Thread Starter

View dbagpiper's Photo Album My Photos
Boring a blank

I'm an amateur turner and a bagpiper. I would like to make my own practice chanter which means I'm going to have to bore about a 3/16" hole straight through the length of a 2"x2"x9" blank (blackwood or ebony).
Suggestions on a method for doing this? I have a steady rest w/ rollers to hold the end while I bore, but the bit seems to wander...?

Aribest;
Jake MacIntyre
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-01-2011, 02:17 PM

View wildwood's Photo Album My Photos
You need really sharp drill bits and may need to turn blank around drilling from both sides.
Never drill dense wood like Ebony, think Blackwood and Ebony from the same family. Think Blackwood more forgiven than Ebony. Ebony does not like heat, will crack easier while drilling.

Years ago bought a set of long brad point drill bit set like this one for drilling lamps:

http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-9150-12-Inch-Extra-7-Piece/dp/B001S2RAS4

When new they cut straight through a blank. Clearing chip often was key to keeping the bits from wandering. I kept lathe speed right at 500 RPMS. As bits got some wear, drilling both ends of a blank ensured good holes. Sandpaper glued to a dowel took care of any minor irregularities.

I did not know about pilot point, parabolic, and 135-degree twist drill bits back then. These drill bits are tad more aggressive than brad point bits. Of the three parabolic bits wander as much as brad point bits. If can find pilot or 135-degree twist bit in right diameterand length might be worth extra money
post #3 of 6 Old 04-01-2011, 03:40 PM

View CaptRandy's Photo Album My Photos