Birch log... how do I handle this? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 11-10-2014, 10:11 AM Thread Starter

View MidKnight's Photo Album My Photos
Hello all

My old man was taking down some trees on his property. Pine and birch. I took away this birch log. Probably 8" across. 48" long.

My question is how do I handle it? I'm a newbie to green wood. I'd love to turn my first live edge bowls from this. And maybe a few crafty projects like tea light holders.

Should I rough out the bowls and set them to dry? If I keep some or all of the log intact should I use anchor seal on the ends?

How would you handle this wood if you were given it?

Any and all thoughts are welcome. I've not been turning long and this log is going to be a few firsts for me. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: sorry for the wonky pic... Post this one from the phone.

Name:  ForumRunner_20141110_082026.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  64.9 KB

Last edited by MidKnight; 11-10-2014 at 11:15 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 11-10-2014, 10:20 AM

View Joanne Gonthier's Photo Album My Photos
I've turned alot of birch and love it. It turns like butter.! I turn them fairly thin then let my piece dry in a paper bag for a couple of months. Never had one crack yet and it's a wood than sands very smooth.
post #3 of 6 Old 11-10-2014, 12:15 PM

View BigJoe16's Photo Album My Photos
Both your ideas are right.

If you plan on turning them wet, and very soon you won't need to anchor seal the ends. If it'll be a few days or a week or two before you get to all the blanks, then you should anchor seal the ends.

Cut them into blocks and seal the ends.

Turn them thin and put them in paper bags for a while and if have a small scale, keep weighting the blanks. Once they stop loosing water weight, they should be dry. They might warp out of round but for a natural edge bowl, it generally isn't that noticeable and most of the time adds a nice look to it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement