Baseball bats! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 07-02-2011, 08:53 PM Thread Starter

View Scal24's Photo Album My Photos
Baseball bats!

I've been woodworking for a few years now, only made a few things on the lathe (we have them at our shop at school) and I really enjoy it. I play baseball, and I'd like to start making bats. I'm looking for a lathe that will be able to turn a bat very well. It will need the length (and the power?) to be able to do that. I'd really like some suggestions on personal experiences, or what you all have heard for lathes that would work well for baseball bats. I would also be making other things, smaller things. I'd like to stay under $600 for the most part.

I read in someone elses post of this lathe, it seems like a decent beginner lathe, and with the extension will work with bats:

Lathe:
http://www.pennstateind.com/store/TCLC12VS.html
Extension:
http://www.pennstateind.com/store/TCLC12XB2.html
Tools:
http://www.pennstateind.com/store/LXWM1007.html
Faceplate:
http://www.pennstateind.com/store/CF3J.html

The total for that is $637 + shipping. EDIT: shipping is $75... If anyone knows of a cheaper, yet decent tool set, that would be grateful. Otherwise, is there anything else I would need, or are there any other lathes that would work better for cheaper?

Thanks,
Sam
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-03-2011, 10:50 AM

View NCPaladin's Photo Album My Photos
Looks like a nice lathe but I have never used it.
Im not sure why you need a 3 faceplate when it already comes with a 4 faceplate. You should seldom need a faceplate for spindle orientation. A steb center would be a nice addition for about the same price as the additional faceplate.