Advice needed on sharpening jigs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 08-12-2007, 07:35 AM Thread Starter

View cherryferret's Photo Album My Photos
Advice needed on sharpening jigs

Hi All,

This is my first post and I look forward to many more. I have just got my lathe (not even set it up yet) and am very much a beginner, so sorry in advance for the stupid questions I'm bound to ask. (hope this isn't one of them).

I need advice about which sharpening jig to get. I am thinking of either the Sorby or the Heligrind. Any advice appreciated.

Just seen the Tormek range too, but not sure which one would be best.

Last edited by cherryferret; 08-12-2007 at 07:46 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 08-12-2007, 08:04 AM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Sorry I cannot give any advice on what jig to use, I have no first hand experience with any of them (I have sharpened 100's of lathe tools, just never used one of the jigs). Someone should come along soon and help. I just wanted to jump in and welcome you, you will enjoy the new lathe I am sure. There are some turners here, and no question is a stupid one, asking for advice is smarter than learning the hard way .
post #3 of 20 Old 08-12-2007, 12:10 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daren View Post
Sorry I cannot give any advice on what jig to use, I have no first hand experience with any of them (I have sharpened 100's of lathe tools, just never used one of the jigs). Someone should come along soon and help. I just wanted to jump in and welcome you, you will enjoy the new lathe I am sure. There are some turners here, and no question is a stupid one, asking for advice is smarter than learning the hard way .
Thanks for the welcome Daren. Hand sharpening may come later but at the minute I'd like to keep my tools a decent length instead of the stub's I'd end up with if I tried it now .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 Old 08-12-2007, 02:06 PM