Adjustable Mandrel vs. Regular Mandrel - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 12-30-2011, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

View NNJG_Matt's Photo Album My Photos
Adjustable Mandrel vs. Regular Mandrel

So what are the pros and cons and over all differences between a adjustable mandrel and a regular mandrel?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 12-30-2011, 08:32 PM
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE

View BassBlaster's Photo Album My Photos
The difference is that the adjustable or pro mandrel can be made whatever size you need it to be. A regular mandrel requires spacers to make it the length you need it to be. I'm a complete noob and have only used the pro mandrel but I would think the regular one would also be more likely to flex while turning small items that dont require the full length, maybe not though. Also if the mandrel ever gets bent, I can replace the shaft at less than have the cost of a new mandrel. The other type you would need to buy an entire new mandrel.

RRBrown, knottscott and many others were banned, they didn't just leave. They were banned for standing up to the new owners that are destroying this site. Come join us all at woodworking chat, the best new woodworking site on the net!!
post #3 of 18 Old 12-30-2011, 09:53 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
Bassblaster's pretty much got it on that one...no need for spacer bushings and less flex.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 Old 12-31-2011, 02:19 AM

View JTTHECLOCKMAN's Photo Album My Photos
I use an adjustable mandrel because I rarely like to do more than one blank at a time to elliminate flex and OOR blanks. Also I forgo the mandrel and just turn between centers using the appropriate bushings designed to allow this. Works a whole lot better.

John T.
post #5 of 18 Old 12-31-2011, 10:15 AM

View Whaler's Photo Album My Photos