Acrylic blanks - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 06-24-2011, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Acrylic blanks

I thought turning an acrylic pen blank was supposed to be easier than it turned out. It seemed to come off in chunks and when I finally got it working pretty good and was almost finished then it blew apart. I have turned burls with 10x less problems and they were not stabilized.

Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 06-24-2011, 12:04 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
I too have only tuned acrylics that have blown up. I know your tools have to be super sharp. I know you have to take lighter cuts. I also can't stand the smell of the acrylics so I've decided to stick with wood only and let others play with plastics...I am a WOODworker afterall

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 20 Old 06-24-2011, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
No Longer Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawdustfactory View Post
I too have only tuned acrylics that have blown up. I know your tools have to be super sharp. I know you have to take lighter cuts. I also can't stand the smell of the acrylics so I've decided to stick with wood only and let others play with plastics...I am a WOODworker afterall
There was one in particular that my son wants andanotherthat my daughter wants so I'm stuck with doing them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 Old 06-24-2011, 01:42 PM

View wildwood's Photo Album My Photos
I had more problems drilling acrylic blanks, never turning. Most times only use my ĺ” roughing gouge then start wet sanding and polishing with micromesh. Even with sharp gouge get circles on some acrylic blanks so just break out the skew. Just like wood not all acrylics the same.

Good luck with them.
post #5 of 20 Old 06-24-2011, 01:59 PM

View Bob Willing's Photo Album My Photos