103.23070 Craftsman Lathe - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 11-24-2008, 11:25 AM Thread Starter

View VDUB04's Photo Album My Photos
103.23070 Craftsman Lathe

Hello all,
I am new to the world of woodturning and Just picked up a Craftsman roebuck Model# 103.23070. Only one problem, (excuse my lack of proper vocab) the tailstock "chuck" ( or peice that holds the wood on ) is missing. I have checked all over, sears, harbor freight, lowes, home depot. NOTHING... Looks as if this part has been dicontinued. From reading I hear Live centers are better. Can someone help me either find this part, or think of something that will work?? Thanks all Have a great day!

Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 11-24-2008, 12:42 PM

View johnp's Photo Album My Photos
the live center is the one that spins.(next to the motor0. you need the complete tailstock? i have seen those on ebay.. google tail stock didn't get the expected results.. but it did return a lot of pictures... if you can get pictures of what you have someone here can find you a part number of what else you need
post #3 of 14 Old 11-24-2008, 12:49 PM
HLW

View HLW's Photo Album My Photos
Lightbulb

VDUB04 You might want to try Home Depot for the part. I used to own a Craftsman lathe ( not sure of the model #) but Home Depot sold the same lathe under the Rigid name.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 11-24-2008, 01:09 PM Thread Starter

I do not need the whole tail stock, just the peice that either looks like it has teeth on it or a sharp point that "bites" into the end of the wood. This looks like it sticks out from the tailstock. I have checked home depot, EBAY, lowes, Horbor freight all with no sucess.
post #5 of 14 Old 11-24-2008, 02:07 PM

View bikerb422's Photo Album My Photos
VDU