Working with a slightly cupped board - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 02-25-2013, 11:47 PM Thread Starter

View RFEndemann's Photo Album My Photos
Working with a slightly cupped board

Hi All -

Please excuse any naivete in this post, I am somewhat new to woodworking (maybe 1.5 years exp).

I am building a media cabinet for a friend. This is the first time I have used hardwood (using Alder). I glued up all of my panels, and then took them to a local shop to be trimmed, planed and sanded. I got the boards back today, and one of them, the side panel of the media cabinet (which is 3/4 inch) has very slight cupping - perhaps 1/8th of an inch, certainly less than 1/4 inch. I have attached pictures of both the design built in Sketchup, and the panel that has cupped. I will join the panel to the top and bottom using a kreg jig and 1 1/4 inch screws. A few questions:

• Is there any reliable way to fix the cupping? Keep in mind the panel is now perfectly cut to size, so I would rather not cut it in to pieces and re-glue it, as I am certain to come out slightly smaller than its twin on the other side.
  • Can I simply clamp the piece flat, and use the kreg jig to connect it on either end, and then unclamp it? The wood is malleable enough that when I press it against a flat service, the cupping flattens out.
  • The bottom of the cabinet is 3/4" birch ply, and has slightly warped as well. Can I still use it, and rely on the weight of the cabinet (should be quite heavy) to flatten it out?
All other pieces are perfect. Hoping to assemble this weekend and would appreciate the expertise of my fellow wood workers to stay on schedule.

Thanks in advance - long time reader here, but am relatively new to posting.

Randy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5750.jpg
Views:	255
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	64177  

Attached Files
File Type: pdf Toms Cabinet.pdf (51.9 KB, 118 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement