Wooden hinge help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 03-14-2017, 12:53 AM Thread Starter

View jmhawk1's Photo Album My Photos
Lightbulb Wooden hinge help

So, I am new to woodworking, and recently built a toy horse stable. My daughter (7 y/o) loved helping her daddy with some of the cutting with a mitre box and hand saw, drilling out the pocket holes with a Kreg jig, attaching the posts to the uprights, and staining the stable and shingles. It was a great project, and now she wants to do more.

She has requested a corral or fence, and I would love to make one that is about 7" tall or so that can fold up like an accordion for storage. I have scoured Google, but have not had any luck. I have found some for sale by the Amish, but would love to build this myself with the help of my daughter. I planned to use 1x2s for the fence, with a wooden dowel for the swivel so it can fold together. The only thing I can think of is to drill some holes at the end of the fence "slots" to insert the dowel, then nail/staple the dowel at the top and bottom fence "slot", allowing the "slots" in the middle to move. Basically, I want them to move almost 360 degrees, so a normal "door" hinge will not work. I know that doesn't really clear much up, but I am sure if you have seen the toy wooden fences, you will understand what I want. I have also attached a picture of what I am talking about...

I am very new to woodworking, but would love some opinions on this. I have joined this community specifically for this answer, but searching for "wooden hinge" didn't bring up anything helpful...

I look forward to learning a lot more, and I hope to be able to start making my own furniture (and doll furniture) soon, along with the pride of being able to do my own woodwork and tinkering. Thank you all in advance, and please don't flame me!!!

Matt
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-14-2017, 01:22 AM

View Terry Q's Photo Album My Photos