Wooden dowel for breadboard ends - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By FrankC

post #1 of 14 Old 01-30-2020, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
JR7

View JR7's Photo Album My Photos
Wooden dowel for breadboard ends

Newbie here and as the title says would wooden dowels suffice to attach bread board ends? I donít have a plate joiner or the router bits necessary, nor have I learned to do tenon and mortise joints. This is my first project and Iím just learning a bit with it. I realize this table wonít last forever, but Iím learning as I go.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-30-2020, 11:59 AM
djg
Senior Something

View djg's Photo Album My Photos
I am no expert, but I don't think dowels driven into the ends of the bread board will allow the field to expand. Never done one yet, but normally dowel pegs are driven in from top into slotted holes of the field's tenon. That's my understanding.
post #3 of 14 Old 01-30-2020, 12:14 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
As explained above, there has to be room for expansion when grains are joined perpendicular to each other, you will possibly end up with a split top.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 01-30-2020, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
JR7

Thanks for the quick replies. I appreciate it. Iím just looking for an easier way to attach without glueing and using pocket holes. I donít plan on this table lasting a life time, but I also donít want it to split in 6 months or less. I guess what Iím saying is Iím looking for a ďmiddle of the roadĒ way to join these.
post #5 of 14 Old 01-30-2020, 12:37 PM

View DrRobert's Photo Album My Photos