Wood movement & joinery question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By OrcaSea

post #1 of 5 Old 06-28-2020, 03:42 AM Thread Starter

View OrcaSea's Photo Album My Photos
Wood movement & joinery question

Greetings, all,

I am a new woodworker and am building a relatively simple Red Oak chest for storing knitting projects for a friend. I live in Washington state and she lives in Alabama and it will be shipped to her. My state is moderately humid and 'Bama...well, it should be "Row Tide" not "Roll Tide", BUT it will live in an air-conditioned environment, so I'm not so much worried about swelling as much as shrinkage in the dry A/C air.

FYI the grain on the attached Sketchup shot is wrong - actually the opposite. The end panels have vertical grain and the side panels have horizontal grain, and all wood is 3/4" solid hardwood and consists of glued together panels.

I'm not terribly concerned about movement on the end panels - there will be a floating 1/4" plywood floor in dados and the lid is attached with hinges on one side. Initially I was going to use 5/16" flush Oak dowels through the end panels into the side panels, but at 12" across the grain movement could be considerable (I have read up to 1/4"?).

So what is the best way to approach this? I considered gluing vertical battons to the interior of the end panels and using recessed screws through the side panels into slotted holes in the battons? Will dowels allow for enough movement if I used those? Am I overthinking this? It's a gift and I don't want the panels to split or break from the ends.

Suggestions & advice would be very much appreciated!

Thanks,

Curtis

PS - if anyone can show me a way to layout a nice compound recurve instead of the simple radius on the end panels I will recognize you as an heroic figure.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kinitting.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	686.9 KB
ID:	391607  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Kinitting 2.PNG