When Should A Joint NOT Be Glued? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 08-26-2012, 09:22 PM Thread Starter

View Wood4Brains's Photo Album My Photos
When Should A Joint NOT Be Glued?

Hi there, Everyone:

Another noob question: When should you NOT glue a joint together?

I have heard that when joining certain pieces together that, due to the naturally occurring expansion and contraction of the wood, there are times when you should NOT GLUE pieces together and should only use screws instead.

So, Is there any "rule of thumb" for when it is ok to glue joints, and when it isn't?

Thanks in advance for your help and your patience in dealing with my noob questions.

I'm An Expert In Ugly!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 08-26-2012, 11:36 PM
amateur

View Greg in Maryland's Photo Album My Photos
A few that come to mind (there are many more)

-- breadboard ends (google breadboard end for an example)
-- certain types of doors - raised panel with rails and stiles. Think, kitchen cabinets.
-- affixing table tops to table bases
-- knock down joints, where disassembly is required

That's a start, though there are many, many more examples where lots of glue isn't the answer.

Greg

If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.
Isaac Newton
post #3 of 14 Old 08-27-2012, 12:18 AM

View Lola Ranch's Photo Album My Photos
Name:  P1190310.jpg
Views: 911
Size:  55.1 KB

These wedged trough tenons are not glued in case you want to move the table. Just knock the wedges out and pull the stretchers out of the leg assembly.

Bret
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 08-27-2012, 01:49 AM Thread Starter

Hi there, Greg and Bret:

Thanks for the answers.

I hope you can explain further about this one:

Quote:
-- affixing table tops to table bases
Is that specifically to allow for expansion / compression? Or is that to allow for it to be disassembled?