what kind of joints are these? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 10 Old 09-05-2016, 02:52 PM Thread Starter

View norcaljoey's Photo Album My Photos
what kind of joints are these?

I have attached an image. Are these a type of butt joint?

I am trying to replicate the pieces shown in the picture. It assembles to be a box. It was cut with a laser cutter I believe. I am a woodworking novice and have a table saw, skill saw, jigsaw and router. So nothing fancy. My first attempt I used my skill saw and made a fence with a level. Then used my jigsaw to cut out the joints and it worked OK, but the joints are ugly and dont line up all that well and I want to try and improve but cant really purchase anything fancy.

My second attempt I am going to rip all the pieces with my table saw into the side needed and then cut out the joints with a jigsaw the best I can. Any ideas to make this easier/better without breaking the bank on tools?
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 09-05-2016, 03:28 PM
bzguy

View bzguy's Photo Album My Photos
Looks like odd variation on dovetail.
post #3 of 10 Old 09-05-2016, 03:43 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
It's a box joint however normally with a box joint there are more cuts per edge than one.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 09-05-2016, 03:57 PM
bzguy

View bzguy's Photo Album My Photos
Box joints are straight-cut, this has angle like dovetails.
Attached Images

Last edited by bzguy; 09-05-2016 at 04:00 PM.
post #5 of 10 Old 09-05-2016, 05:03 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Do I see a small pilot hole?