veneer marketry issues - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 2 Old 02-09-2017, 11:53 AM Thread Starter

View Rom 1's Photo Album My Photos
veneer marketry issues

Hi everyone, new to the forum , figured this could fit in this sub...

I'm a product designer/ artisan located in Lisboa, Portugal. (I 'm french though )

I have a little issue with my first marketry piece. any feedback is appreciated on the two issues I have.

So. I had two main issues with this project:
1- my veneer started to go all wavy and I had huge problems joining pieces together as they were somehow "streachable" across grain. I first tried wetting them with a sponge and letting them 24 h in the vacuum press. It looked good at first but soon became worst hehe. I then tried the technique in the attached link
with poor results. I ended up having inconsistent glue-up on an edge. It seems like there was some "extra material" that didn't know where to go and started ondulating thus leaving me with a lot of touch-up to try to re-glue and "flatten" many spots.
Poor result. Which is sad because it is quite localised.

2- I only had access to Tesa 433 precision masking tape to do all the joint work :/ I know... I just had to for timing reasons (and look at me now). And after a night in my vacuum press it left some ghost marks (residues?) that I am wondering how to remove without damaging the walnut veneer... I would still like to try to salvage this so any tips for removing the marks are welcome.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be great I feel a bit sad about this piece :/

thanks
Attached Images

Last edited by Rom 1; 02-09-2017 at 12:18 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 02-09-2017, 02:47 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos