Using Dowels - Need Tips - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 37 Old 10-03-2012, 07:39 AM Thread Starter

View OHNOIMONFIRE's Photo Album My Photos
Using Dowels - Need Tips

Hey All,

Yesterday was the first time I ever used dowels to join wood. My current project is a pretty simple bathroom wall cabinet that I made difficult because instead of following the simple plans to glue and screw, I wanted to use some sort of advanced joinery. That was my first problem.

Second, I've never done dowel joinery before and because it's a fairly small project in terms of size and cost, I figured I'd try it out. I bought a dowel jig, drill bit collar stops, 3/8" pegs, etc.

My project is a mess. The brad point bits I used tore up the pine I'm using and left eye sores on the wood (you won't see them but still...). I thought I correctly calculated the dowel measurements for depth but some of them don't fit snug into each insert, leaving a tiny gap between the two pieces and requiring me to go back and drill deeper inserts. Lastly, some of my edges aren't squared. The whole cabinet, when put together, creaks and wobbles, which can be easily fixed by glue, but if I was going to do that I wouldn't have used dowels in the first place.

Is dowel joinery this much of a pain? Or am I doing something terribly wrong?

I need serious help, tips, anything. Thanks.

Follow me and my current projects on Instagram! OHNOIMONFIRE
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 10-03-2012, 07:54 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Pictures or a sketch of the cabinet, and where you used dowels would be a big help. I wouldn't consider "dowel joinery" an advanced joinery method, but rather an alternative method. As you stated, there are parameters that make for a good dowel fittings. For casework assembly there are better, easier, and more predictable joinery methods.

post #3 of 37 Old 10-03-2012, 08:46 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote: