Using aerosol lacquer - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 09-18-2013, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Twokamprs

View Twokamprs's Photo Album My Photos
Using aerosol lacquer

I'm a beginner woodworker, but all my projects so far have been finished with 2 or 3 coats of brush-on polyurethane. Someone told me to try aerosol lacquer on my next project for a variety of reasons. So, I did. I made sure the surface was smooth and clean, applied the stain, then sprayed on 4 coats of glossy Watco lacquer and finished with a coat of satin. I tried my best to apply as thin a coat as possible each time. I'm not totally happy with the results. I feel slightly rough spots on the finish. I contacted Watco for help. I was told that I probably held the can too far from the surface and the spray was drying before it hit the wood creating a rough surface. She suggested I steel wool the project with 0000 grade wool, then start over holding the can a little closer. Before I do this, does anyone have any other suggestions? I don't have a sprayer, so I'm stuck with aerosol spray.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-18-2013, 06:11 PM

View Roger Newby's Photo Album My Photos
I usually spray from about 12" away. The surface should look wet as you spray. Lacquer is a very fast drying finish and can partially dry as you spray if you are too far from the surface. Whenever possible, try to spray on a horizontal surface rather than vertical.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Roger Newby For This Useful Post:
jharris2 (09-18-2013), Twokamprs (09-19-2013)
post #3 of 9 Old 09-18-2013, 06:20 PM

View Joeb41's Photo Album My Photos
I have very good results with Deft aerosol laquer from Lowes. They have sanding sealer, gloss, semi gloss, and satin. I have used their products for years with good results.

Joe B. 41
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Joeb41 For This Useful Post:
jharris2 (09-18-2013), Twokamprs (09-19-2013), woodman73446 (09-19-2013)
Sponsored Links