Is it the user or the alignment? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 07-15-2008, 10:46 PM Thread Starter

View TLoeb's Photo Album My Photos
Is it the user or the alignment?

I just bought a refurbished Delta T37-307 jointer. I am new to using a jointer, but I have read and read about them, so I think it should be fairly straight forward. I push the board in with light pressure, and then shift my hands/pushers to the outfeed table. I checked to see that the tip of the knives are level with the outfeed table on both sides (on the fence side and opposite) for all three knives. I have used a level to check infeed and outfeed tables for levelness (is that a word?) lengthwise and across. Also to see that the two tables are parallel. Everything seemed to check out. The attachment (if I got it uploaded correctly), shows how I used a pencil to scribble along the length of each of four boards then took 1 or 2 passes on each. The pattern of cutting was similar on each with the end of the board not touching the knives at all. What in the world am I doing wrong?? Or can I blame it on alignment instead of user error?
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-15-2008, 11:15 PM
Curmudgeon in Training

View Geoguy's Photo Album My Photos
If you've got the height of the outfeed table adjusted correctly with the knives, it should work. I would check that again, just in case you may have missed something. It sounds as if the end of the outfeed table may be diving away from the knives. (but that doesn't really make sense??) Make sure you use a push block or something to push down with even force over the length of the board and concentrate the force above the knives. Other than that,,,,,,, I'm out of ideas.
post #3 of 11 Old 07-16-2008, 06:16 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoguy View Post