Top and bottom panel of box fit questions - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 10-13-2016, 09:03 AM Thread Starter

View ggt1_02's Photo Album My Photos
Top and bottom panel of box fit questions

I am new at this (tried searching but not sure if I was using the right terminology) and am trying something new on every project.

The box has ~1/2" walnut sides, 1/4" ply bottom and ~1/4" book matched maple top and is overall 12" x 12" x 6". The bottom panel is dadoed in and the top is rabbited to sit flush. My plan was to glue the top panel in and sand it flush, but after some reading here I am worried that it will bow up down the road. The maple is quite old and has been sitting around for a while and the walnut (bought at rockler in the spring) has been sitting for a few weeks following cutting, it did warp a bit while it sat this summer but was jointed and planed back to flat. The whole box in and out will be either polyed or laquered, not sure which yet. The top did bow a bit after gluing (should have used cauls) but was flattened out using some weight and time. Miter splines will be added to the box.

Here are my newb questions.

Should I trim the top panel back a bit and allow for room to expand and cover the joint with a walnut trim piece in case it moves? Or leave it as planned and put a cross brace underneath to hold it in place? Or just leave it as planned?

Should the bottom panel be tight and glued in or slightly loose and not glued in?

This picture shows the box overall during first fit up with all panels installed.
Name:  20161010_183224.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  68.2 KB

This is a detail of the top joint, there is still some final fitting to be done.
Name:  20161010_183311.jpg
Views: 133
Size:  42.1 KB
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 10-13-2016, 11:58 AM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
I don't want to criticize your efforts, but it is best to use Plywood when wrapping inside mitered corners.