Tongue and Groove Help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By FrankC
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic

post #1 of 12 Old 05-15-2019, 12:25 PM Thread Starter

View Willis's Photo Album My Photos
Tongue and Groove Help

Hello, I'm fairly new to woodworking and I'm currently joining some boards with tongue and groove joints with a dado set (1/4"). My groove joints look fine, but when I cut the tongue, it has a convex shape to it. Any insights on what I might be doing wrong? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 05-15-2019, 01:28 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
A sketch or photo of the problem would help.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”
― Marcus Aurelius
FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
post #3 of 12 Old 05-15-2019, 02:48 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The problem is with your dado set. Some of them just don't cut true until they have been sharpened several times.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 Old 05-15-2019, 03:28 PM

View Terry Q's Photo Album My Photos
Just exactly how are you cutting the tongue? Technique probably has something to do with it

In woodworking there is always more then one way to accomplish something.
post #5 of 12 Old 05-15-2019, 05:59 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I'm trying to imagine how you are doing it ....

Skip the intro.

Here a method using only one blade:
https://youtu.be/P3UIxSrxx9s?t=151

he also shows you how to use the dado set:
https://youtu.be/P3UIxSrxx9s?t=279
gmercer_48083 likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #6 of 12 Old 05-16-2019, 09:52 AM Thread Starter