Tips for Plank Table without a Jointer? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 05-24-2014, 12:01 PM Thread Starter

View kyle m's Photo Album My Photos
Tips for Plank Table without a Jointer?

Hey guys I've been reading here for a while and I'm new to wood working. I'm trying to make a rustic farm house table but I don't have a jointer.

Does anyone have suggestions for making the table top look nice and keeping it from looking like a picnic table?

I have thought about using my router with a rabbet bit to "interlace" the planks to keep light from shining through the gaps. Thoughts?

Thanks for any help you can suggest!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 05-24-2014, 02:42 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
construction lumber has rounded edges

The rounded edges on construction grade lumber are what makes it look like a picnic table, so you've got to remove them. You can rip thin strips off on the table saw. You can rip thin strips off using a straight edge guide and a circular saw or a router.
The router will take a few passes for each edge.

You can either edge glue and clamp them or spline them with or without out glue and have a "loose" joint.

You can also drill across the width of each plank and insert threaded rod to draw them together. this would require some considerable accuracy to get the holes all aligned accurately and at 90 degrees to the edges. It would also require a long drill to make it across the width of a 5" or 7" wide plank.

The planks will expand across their width, so only fasten them securely in the center to any cross members on the base, and allow slots for expansion out toward the sides.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
The Following User Says Thank You to woodnthings For This Useful Post:
mfflannery (05-24-2014)