Think I may have messed up a pocket hole joint. How to fix? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 24 Old 10-10-2012, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
TCM

View TCM's Photo Album My Photos
Think I may have messed up a pocket hole joint. How to fix?

This is my project: http://ana-white.com/2012/07/plans/c...-junior-height

I am building the stair and deck part.

I am using a Kreg Jig for most joints. I made a mistake here, and because i'm new at this, I tried to fix it and I think I made it worse. Here is my problem; I made the pocket hole. When I went to attach the board with the PH, the screw was too long and it popped through the board I was attaching the PH board to. I removed that screw ( I was using 2-1/2 screws here) I attempted to make that joint using a 1-1/2 screw (what I really need is a 2 in screw). Anyway, I think the joint is really loose now. Is this making any sense?

Is there some way to fix that? Is it possible that it will fix itself when I get 2 in screws? My other option is to cut a new piece of wood, but I would like to avoid that if possible. Any ideas? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 10-10-2012, 02:50 PM

View jharris2's Photo Album My Photos
Remove the part with the PH holes in it. Shape and glue a peg into the corresponding hole. You can use a chopstick or shape the peg from any piece of solid wood.

After the glue sets trim the peg flush and reassemble.

Let us know how you do.

Jeff

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my grandfather did — in his
sleep. Not yelling and screaming like the passengers in his car.

Jack Handey
post #3 of 24 Old 10-10-2012, 05:02 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
It's probably too late for you, but I wouldn't use pocket screws on a project like that, especially with kids playing in and around it. I would go to the trouble to use traditional joinery methods.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cabinetman For This Useful Post: