Stanley 750 Chisel Usage - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 40 Old 01-31-2013, 01:31 PM Thread Starter

View trevarthan's Photo Album My Photos
Stanley 750 Chisel Usage

Hello,

I'm self taught and making my first workbench.

I bought the 8 piece set of Stanley 750s this past week. They arrived yesterday, and I went to work sharpening. I figured these chisels are very similar to Lie Nielsen chisels, so I watched their sharpening video and used it as a guide:

Let's see... I have three water stones. A 1000/6000 combination stone, and some blue stone I bought at a hardware store. Not sure what the grit is on that stone, but probably pretty rough, like 400 or 200. I also have a diamond plate that I use to flatten my stones. I don't have slabs of granite laying around, or sheets of glass I can spare, so I just make do with these three.

I also have the honing guide they use in the video and a protractor.

I started on my 1" chisel, but I found it was too big for the benchdog holes I'm cutting in my 2x4s for my new workbench, so I switched to the 3/4" chisel.

I spent about 2 hours alternating between the rough blue stone, and my 1000/6000 stone. I tried to flatten the back:

Eventually I gave up and called it "done" because it was taking so long. As you can see, the scratch pattern isn't even, and I'm not sure I would call the blade polished. You can see the machining marks all along the blade still.

Then I put a secondary bevel on the tip of the chisel:

The weird thing about this is the near corner. Clearly it had a good bit less material there. Or else I screwed up it's orientation in the roller jig. I ground it down enough on the blue stone so that there was at least some polish in that corner, but I didn't take the time to make it even.

Here's my first couple of attempts removing the waste from my benchdog holes: