Rail and stile gaps - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 40 Old 06-04-2013, 02:42 AM Thread Starter

View Masterjer's Photo Album My Photos
Rail and stile gaps

I tried my hand at some cabinet doors and am not sure how to adjust the router to solve my issue. I was able to adjust the tenon to fit nicely into the groove; however there are gaps in the joint.

It looks like the ogee profiles are mating before the tongue and groove shoulders make contact.

Any suggestions? I'm completely new to rails and stiles. I am using the MLCS matched bit set for these.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1216628885.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	72548  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 Old 06-04-2013, 07:05 AM

View willbess08's Photo Album My Photos
that looks really close for a first try! it took me forever to get mine set up right, might be a dumb question but are u clamping them tightly after assembly? the secret to a tight fit is a good screw clamp, ie jorgenson (sp) or bigfoots from rockler, screw them down tight and let them dry for fifteen or twenty minutes. scrap wood for buffers are good between the door and clamp to prevent dents. hope this helps, even in professional shops wood putty is still used to fill the gap left over on the ends.

Will Bess
Crowder Carpentry
Vale, NC
980-522-6408
http://www.facebook.com/CrowderCarpentryAndCabinets#
post #3 of 40 Old 06-04-2013, 08:50 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The problem is the set isn't properly matched. Either the coping or the sticking needs more steel on it. It is bottoming out of the sticking before the joint closes up. If you can get any deeper cut with the coping you might be able to make it work however it will have an excessive gap at the end of the tenon.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 40 Old 06-04-2013, 09:12 AM

View byrd's Photo Album My Photos