Question for joining small pieces of wood! Help please! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 09-18-2015, 02:35 PM Thread Starter

View bulletshell13's Photo Album My Photos
Question for joining small pieces of wood! Help please!

Hi guys! I am a rookie and untrained hobbyist "woodworker" ... I usually just make my own canvas frames and art panels - that is basically the extent of my wood working so far, but I am trying to expand my knowledge, in the attached photos you will see my latest project.

I want to attach oddly cut/shaped wood to this panel, in the fashion of the stained lines on the panel the in question pieces lay on in the picture. I will also try to build a few support points for the unstained pieces in the picture, I want to suspend a couple levels of floating wood-lines and then adhere dimmable LEDS to their underside :D

ANYWAY, how would you join these? I was thinking dowels? I can only find 6mm diameter wood dowels (besides maybe searching for some hobby store source with specialty dowels). I think that they might work but I want some advice! Or maybe instead of rod shaped dowels maybe those leaf shaped ones? I dunno! I can of course join a few of the pieces with the support points that will eventually be built in so that they "float" above the panel.

Any advice/input would be greatly appreciated! For what it's worth I have a miter saw, jigsaw, and small router with a few bits, otherwise I do not have many special things here at home - but enough I think! (Well of course I have a drill and such as well).

Thanks for looking!
Attached Images

Last edited by bulletshell13; 09-18-2015 at 02:38 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 09-18-2015, 02:48 PM

View mengtian's Photo Album My Photos
Half lap joints would work if you have the tools. (Table saw w/ dado set or patience LOL; router table, hand plane.)