A question about a mortise and tenon joint. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 14Likes

post #1 of 23 Old 10-01-2020, 10:09 AM Thread Starter

View RonBenson's Photo Album My Photos
A question about a mortise and tenon joint.

I learned from my Dad, and he was self taught decades before anyone could watch youtube videos. He used a lot of screws to join two pieces of wood. The end result is I am now attempting my first M & T table build, (16"D X 32"L X 35"H).

I'm comfortable that I can do it, but I do worry about accurate fit. In watching many videos, I see two different ways to fit the pieces together. First is with a tight fit on all four sides and the second is to make the tenons a bit shorter top and bottom to allow slight movement up and down for a better fit. (I am assuming the width of the board is vertical.) This is very appealing for someone's first try, but it seems that it would sacrifice strength. The tenons will be 4" on the long side by 3/8" thick by 1" long. Will the joint be "strong enough" if I use the second method?

One more question - how much space should I allow at the bottom of the mortise for the glue that will be forced into the joint as I fit the two pieces together?

Thanx ~ Ron
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 10-01-2020, 10:32 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Doesn't matter. If you glue the joint in there won't be enough wood movement to affect the joint.

As long as you can dry fit the joint together without forcing it you will be alright. Any excess glue will squeeze out. You might make the tenon about 1/32" short.
RonBenson likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
RonBenson (10-01-2020)
post #3 of 23 Old 10-01-2020, 12:16 PM

View AwesomeOpossum74's Photo Album My Photos
Can we assume your m&t will be done with chisels/hand saws?

There are a number of good YouTube videos that show how to make a proper m&t joint. See Paul Sellers and Rob Cosman.