Problem with mitre joint - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 05-27-2013, 06:14 PM Thread Starter

View mdelillo's Photo Album My Photos
Question Problem with mitre joint

Hi all,
I'm relatively new to woodworking, and I tried cutting my first mitre joints this weekend with a circular saw. I needed to make two boxes; one of 1x4 red oak and the other of 1x10 red oak. The 1x4 box came out perfect, but the edges of the long ends of the 1x10 box are bowed. The angles are all 45 degrees, but only the top and bottoms meet. Is there a way I can fix this?

Picture here

Thanks,
Mark
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-27-2013, 06:26 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdelillo View Post
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to woodworking, and I tried cutting my first mitre joints this weekend with a circular saw. I needed to make two boxes; one of 1x4 red oak and the other of 1x10 red oak. The 1x4 box came out perfect, but the edges of the long ends of the 1x10 box are bowed. The angles are all 45 degrees, but only the top and bottoms meet. Is there a way I can fix this?

Picture here

Thanks,
Mark
You have several choices. You could use a block sander and sand to fit. Or, you could use a hand plane. Or you could make a shooting board and use a hand plane.

post #3 of 8 Old 05-27-2013, 07:00 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
You have 2 separate issues in my opinion

The first is that the angle setting may be a 1/2 degree off. The second is curved/bowed boards make it very difficult to get a curved line straight.
You are trying to do something using a circular saw which would be easier to do on a sliding miter saw or a table saw using a sled.
Now you have to "fix" what you have.