Positioning piece of wood for 45 degree miter on a TS? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 12-14-2015, 02:22 AM Thread Starter

View Vexorg's Photo Album My Photos
Positioning piece of wood for 45 degree miter on a TS?

Hello,

I am cutting plywood for a large plywood wood box and I am mitering the edges at 45 degrees.

I have my table saw set at 45 degrees but I am sort of confused as the best way to make sure I make the cut in the right spot.

Is the best way to go about this to make a test cut on a similar piece of wood the same length? Or should I set up a zero clearance jig to make sure I know exactly where the blade will cut?'

Looking for any guidance! Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 12-14-2015, 04:51 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
miter or bevel?

For miters you would use the miter gauge.
For bevels you tilt the saw blade to 45 degrees and use the fence. On a mitered cut the wood is placed flat on the table, the miter gauge is set to 45 degrees and away you go, like making a picture frame.
For making a cabinet you bevel the edges, so you can't see the joint. You set the blade over to 45 degrees and use the fence to guide the other edge of the material. Then you rotate the material 90 degrees on the table and bevel the remaining edge.

To find out where to make a bevel cut, you CAN mark the edge of the material using the tri-square at 45 degrees.Your initial mark is at the desired dimension on the top and you transfer the line to the edge so you can see it. You can NOT set the fence to the desired dimension and make a bevel cut because of the angle on the blade. The material thickness comes into play here also.