Panel to substrate? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-29-2015, 07:50 PM Thread Starter

View RnWooder's Photo Album My Photos
Question Panel to substrate?

About gluing a thin panel to a more stable substrate. I have a walnut panel, a 9" widened with one extra board, to 14". I resawed it and flattened it, but now have panels that are 1-a little less than 1/4 and 2-a little more than a 1/4. Not the best resaw I've ever done, and I'm still learning. 1---The question I have, is whether that is thick enough to put in a frame and panel door (13 1/2 w x 25 1/2 Long panel size). I have other wood I can use to make new panels, just thought I was good enough to resaw this board that had such great figure in it. ?2---can I glue these panels to a 1/4-1/2" walnut panel or ply and not have them crack? Or should I just start over. Thanks for looking.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-29-2015, 09:16 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
If it were me...

I would run the panels through the planer or a wide belt sander, removing a bit off each face until they were the same thickness. I don't see an issue gluing them to a 1/4" panel. Wood is unpredictable, so you will be taking a chance. In my experience, anytime you glue something to one face you should also glue something to the other face to prevent warping.

If it were thinner you might get away with only one face being glued, but 1/4" is fairly thick. So, you would be taking a chance by gluing to only one face.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 8 Old 09-29-2015, 09:37 PM Thread Starter