Out-of-Square Fix?? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 09-07-2013, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Twokamprs

View Twokamprs's Photo Album My Photos
Out-of-Square Fix??

To say I'm a beginning woodworker is an understatement of massive proportions. The photo shows my assembled but unfinished quilt rack lying on one end. It was in this position that I noticed that it was out of square in the plan view dimension. When I assembled and glued it up I was concerned about squareness in the standing orientation but never considered the plan orientation. The rack measures about 27" long and 35" tall. In the plan orientation (photo), it is about 1/2" out of square. All joinery is mortise and tenon with dowels securing the two upper rails where they join the side frames.

I have little hope for a real fix here, but I have to ask if anyone has any suggestions for fixing this disaster?
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 09-07-2013, 12:39 PM

View Fred Hargis's Photo Album My Photos
Is one side wider than the other, or is the length of the rails? Sorry, I can't tell from the pic.

"I long for the days when coke was a cola and a joint was a bad place to be" (Merle Haggard)
post #3 of 14 Old 09-08-2013, 07:42 AM Thread Starter
Twokamprs

Out-Of-Square Fix??

As the quilt rack stands upright, the rack is perfectly square in the front dimension. The three rails (2 upper and 1 lower) are all the same length. It's when I lay the rack on one of its side frames (photo view) that I noticed the trapezoidal shape of the plan (overhead) view. In the photo the rails lean a half inch to the right of the side frame it is resting on. The trapezoidal shape is more prominent at the top of the rack than at the bottom. Hope this helps. (My wife, for whom I'm making this quilt rack, happened to walk into my shop just as I was noticing the out-of-square and I made the mistake of explaining it to her. She may never have noticed had I kept my trap shut!)