Newbie Question: Need help with cope and stick profile problem. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 04-12-2015, 10:06 PM Thread Starter

View RickDel's Photo Album My Photos
Question Newbie Question: Need help with cope and stick profile problem.

Hello, I'm a newbie and trying to dial in a cope and stick profile but running into a problem I can't identify. The beginning of the cut looks pretty good to me, but the end of the board comes out uneven. I'm using a cheap Bosch table and it seems square and flat, so can anyone offer advice??? The test piece I cut is an 18" board and the cut is uneven by almost 1/32 of an inch at the end.

** I didn't even realize I hadn't used the plastic ring insert (throat plate) until I looked at my picture, but I don't think this is the problem.

This didn't look that uneven live. That gap is less than a mm and I'm pretty sure I readjusted and got it perfect before the test piece, but again, I don't think this is the problem either.

I didn't use a backer board, but I actually broke the profile after the cut. It didn't come out with the gap on the outfeed side. You can see how off this 18" board looks. The start is pretty dead on, but the outfeed side is almost 1/32nds off each way.

This is another test cut, but on a much shorter board so it's not as noticeable.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!! - Rick

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-12-2015, 10:44 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos