Newbie question for dovetail jigs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 01-05-2014, 06:43 PM Thread Starter

View Jpeluso8's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie question for dovetail jigs

Thinking about getting one of these for a router. But because I have zero experience I have an important question: are you limited by the size of the jig? For example this below jig says " can accommodate a stock up to 11" wide". So let's say I wanted to make a toy box that had a height of let's say 3 feet, would I not be able to use one of these because it says accommodates only 11" ? Same question applies for any jig whether it be for dovetails or box joints etc. And if it's not this type of jig I want then, what do you get that allows you to go as high as you want? Meaning my toy box could be 11" or 5 feet or any height and I could just slide the jig up the entire height of each piece of stock being joined? Thanks

http://www.rockler.com/rockler-s-complete-dovetail-jig

Last edited by Jpeluso8; 01-05-2014 at 07:11 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 01-05-2014, 11:24 PM

View Noek's Photo Album My Photos
I haven't used the Rockler jig but it looks very close to the Porter Cable. There are several variations of the PC jig, i have the 4216. It is limiting as to the width of the wood that it accommodates as well as the spacing ability of the dovetails, but it is very simple to learn.

A step up would be the Leigh jig. Like the Porter Cable, there are several variations of this jig as well. I have the D4R pro. It enables you to use wider width boards as well as many different variations of custom dovetails (Isoloc templates). It is more expensive and perhaps comes with a bit of a more involved learning curve, but the outcome is a more custom and visual appealing joint. I'm having a blast routing inlaid isoloc joints.