Newbie with a Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 04-06-2013, 01:48 PM Thread Starter

View Ohio82's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie with a Question

I am fairly new to woodworking. I enjoy it greatly, but I can never seem to get my 45 degree corners to all match up on a square project.

I am currently making some small photography props. They are step stools that look like benches.

I am putting trim peices around the top and I can't seem to figure out how to get the corners to match up. I know this is a rookie question here but I would appriciate your help. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-06-2013, 02:29 PM

View daveinjersey's Photo Album My Photos
Need a little more information. How are you making your corners? Miter saw? Miter box?
post #3 of 14 Old 04-06-2013, 06:56 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Miters demand accuracy, both in cutting the angles and the length of the pieces, opposite sides must always be exactly the same length.

It would help to know what you are using to cut the miters.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 04-07-2013, 11:30 AM Thread Starter

Miter saw.
post #5 of 14 Old 04-07-2013, 11:33 AM
Pain in the A$$

View Burb's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio82
Miter saw.
From experience, I think this is part of the problem. Most miter saws are really construction tools where being off 1 degree is okay. When you add that up, you're off 4 degrees in a square.

This is why a good miter fence for my table saw is on my wish list.

Mark

"Measuring is the enemy of accuracy." Chris Schwartz
post #6 of 14 Old 04-07-2013, 11:59 AM

View daveinjersey's Photo Album My Photos